E.L. Williams-official site
 
This morning I was running a little late for work.  I should add that though my workday begins at 8:00 AM, I like to be there by 7:45 so when I say a little late, I mean to say I knew I would not be there by 7:45 like normal.  I race into the parking garage seeing the shuttle bus near the pick-up point.  I thought I would have just enough time to park and race to the shuttle.  Not only was the shuttle just around the corner but the driver was one of my favorites that will drop us at the door instead of down the block.  So I race in to discover he left already but another shuttle was already there.  Driving this shuttle was a woman that was notorious for speeding, not stopping when she should and essentially whizzing through the route.  But there she sat on the bus casually reading the paper.  I enter the bus, say good morning and prepare for the quick ride into work.  Oh no, she continued to nonchalantly read her paper!  Normally this would REALLY irk me!  I tend to be impatient at times.  But as I felt myself getting riled I thought, OK so if I walk in at 8:00 or 8:05 that doesn't matter, I knew I was taking that risk when I took longer than normal to get ready and leave this morning.  Also, I cannot make her go any faster so stressing about it was really a waste of time and energy.  So I took a deep breath, put my bags on the seat next to me and just decided to enjoy the ride.
I realized then that God was using that ride as a metaphor for my life.  I do feel God has something WONDERFUL in store for me and as a human I want it now!  But He has often told me I have to endure the process...like I had to endure the bus ride.  I am EXACTLY where I need to be right now, taking a slow but steady journey to someplace MAGNIFICENT!  I cannot hurry the process so the only thing I can do now is relax and enjoy the ride.
So that, my dear loyal readers, is EXACTLY what I am doing now.  The scenery looks great, I know my Life Driver is in complete control and I will get to my destination exactly when I should.
(For the record, the bus driver drove as slow as she possibly could and I arrived at my building at precisely 8:00 AM)  Isn't God WONDERFUL?

~E



Leave a Reply.